Haven’t forgotten about the CHICkens….

Happy Friday Everyone!!
Since I haven’t mentioned my sweets chicks in a while I thought I would give you an update.
My sweet sweet “show” chicken Ichiro (my son named her after a baseball player, in case you were wondering) is in chicken heaven. We joke about the fact that she was a show chicken because when I bought her I called my husband because I was so excited-he said “How much did you just spend on a show chicken?” I told him to brace himself and he might want to sit down for this one, “15 bucks!!” 

Ichiro coming to great me
As Ive mentioned before, Ive realized thru this chicken process that chickens are pretty much at the bottom of the food chain. Yes, we live in the heart of a big city but we live in a very wooded area with lots of coyotes, foxes and my arch nemesis the HAWK. Im starting to hate those dern things. I’m not sure what got her but it truly broke my heart. She was the momma hen of the bunch and brought all new meaning to the word waddle! Believe it or not chickens are like dogs, you pull in the driveway and they come running. It truly warms my heart when the hens and the dogs all come running to greet me.  And Ichiro’s waddle brought a smile to my face everyday. I think she put on a few extra pounds since coming to live at the Meshad abode. But a fat CHICK is a happy CHICK! Right?

One big happy family

My other hens are quite upset about Ichiro and have since quit laying eggs. Who knew chickens were so sentimental? More to follow because I’m getting the itch to get a new hen…..the others feel lonely. 
Back to fashion next week! Heading to market this weekend so I’ll have lots of fashion updates for spring and summer…can’t wait!!
Happy Fall Y’All!
XO,
Fashionable CHICk
Had to add this shot of Copper, too cute not to share!

Leave a Reply

